The Rolling Stones: 10/24/1981

Stones_10-24-81This stub was from the first time I saw the Rolling Stones. They were playing the Tangerine Bowl in Orlando, FL, and I drove up from South Florida with some friends for the show. It was the Tattoo You tour, and I actually had tickets for the second night, but some of the people I went with did not have any tickets. So, we figured we would go to the stadium the day before and see if we could find tickets for the Sunday show for my friends. Lo and behold, there were scads of people scalping tickets outside the stadium, for the whopping cost of $5 for the Saturday show and $10 for Sunday. We bought four for Saturday and two for Sunday, figuring why not see the Stones twice. It warms my heart to know that I paid $5 to see the Rolling Stones.

Because we showed up late and it was general admission, we took the nose-bleed seats. The Henry Paul Band played first (he was from The Outlaws… very forgettable). After they played, we got a set from Van Halen. I was not very impressed. Honestly, they seemed like they were clowning around. It was really hard to take them seriously.

Finally, the Stones came out. They opened with “Under My Thumb” and I was pretty much blown away. For me, the Stones were icons of rock and roll, in the mythical realm of The Beatles. The show was incredible, Keith slinking around the stage with cigarette dangling from his mouth, while Mick pranced and danced and whipped everyone into a frenzy.

When the show was over, we were all psyched and looking forward to the following night. We decided we would get there early and get a spot up close on the field… but that’s another stub and another story.

7 thoughts on “The Rolling Stones: 10/24/1981

  1. Awesome. They did a Toronto concert when we had a SARS outbreak in hospitals. Elton John cancelled. Either stupid of loyal, I’m not sure. They used to rehearse in a wealthy Toronto neighborhood. So I guess they were familiar with the scene.

    Liked by 1 person

      • No I was afraid of getting SARS! (just kidding).

        The real reason is that I have always been more of a “studio” cat than a concert goer. You could count the number of rock concerts I’ve attended on one hand.

        Sociologists have commented how ironic it is that studio lps have become the standard over live music. It *is* ironic but I tend to like meticulously crafted stuff more than the raw.

        There are a few exceptions, of course. Stones’ “Got Live if You Want it” is a nice lp. And I LOVE Pat Metheny Travels… more than his studio stuff.

        Like

Leave a Reply

