The Musical Box: 7/22/2014

MusicalBox_7-22-14

So I decided on this stub as a follow-up to my last post on Peter Gabriel. The Musical Box is a Genesis tribute band, and while tribute bands are generally not my thing (I have only seen a few over the years), I was prompted to check this band out for a couple reasons. First, I heard from several musician friends that they were outstanding. Next, I love early Genesis with Peter Gabriel and when I saw Genesis, it was without Peter (that’s another stub and another story). Finally, they were performing “Selling England By The Pound” in its entirety, which is my favorite Genesis album. I figured I would have to go and check them out.

I went with my wife, but there were also a lot of my friends there: Bill, Audrey, Chris, Bob, Anne, just to name a few. When I saw the elaborate stage setup, I knew we were in for an impressive show. They did not disappoint.

The band opened with “Watcher of the Skies” and I was wowed right off the bat. Not only did they sound like Genesis, but they looked like them. It was kind of spooky. There were times when I it almost felt like I was seeing the original and not a tribute.

From a musician’s perspective, I was very impressed by the technical ability of everyone on stage. Pulling off early Genesis and doing it well is no small feat. They were balanced, tight, clean, basically flawless in their execution.

If you’re a Genesis fan, I recommend checking this band out if you get the opportunity. They are well worth it.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

