TV on the Radio: 5/11/2015

TvRadio_5-11-15

I was between jobs when this concert came about, so my budget did not permit me to buy a ticket, even though I wanted to go. But I suppose I was fated to attend because I got a call from my friend Arwen who said she had an extra ticket and invited me to go with her. Of course, I could not pass on the opportunity.

I had seen TV on the Radio once before, with Arwen, now that I think about it. It was at a big festival and they played late at night, and were good, but not great. Arwen assured me that they were better other times she had seen them. So, I was looking forward to seeing them in an intimate venue like the Orange Peel.

We got there early enough to catch the first act, Bo Ningen. I have to say I was not impressed with them. We ended up going to the private lounge downstairs and hanging out there until their set was over.

TV on the Radio was great this time. The energy was much higher and they really connected with the crowd in the smaller venue. I confess that since I was not very familiar with their music, I could not name a single song that they played. But that didn’t matter. They were high energy, they sounded great, and I had a fun time dancing my butt off. I don’t need to know the songs to appreciate the music.

Want to thank my friend Arwen again for taking me to this show. It was just what I needed—some great live music to pull me out of my bad space.

Leave a Reply

