Aerosmith: 12/18/1984

Aerosmith_12-18-84

Aerosmith was playing two nights at the Sunrise Musical Theater, and I had gone the first night, which was awesome (click here for my memories of that show). I was expecting another great show, but was surprised by what I witnessed at this evening’s performance.

I had taken a woman I worked with, Lisa, to this show. I was interested in her and this was like our “first date.” I’d seen the show the night before, knew what to expect, and figured the way to a woman’s heart is through good music. What could possible go wrong?

The show started pretty much the same as the previous night, but that changed once the band started playing “Big Ten Inch Record.” This evening, Steven Tyler brought a stage prop along with him—a 3-foot dildo. During the song, he held it to his crotch and dangled it off the edge of the stage. At that point, two young women in the front decided to demonstrate their oral capabilities on the big rubber phallus. My first thought was: “That’s one way to get invited back stage.” I glanced over at my date; she did not look amused. The rest of the show and the seemingly long drive home felt awkward. Needless to say, we never went out again after that.

While this was not the most outrageous thing I have seen on stage, it was up there. I guess rock and roll is supposed to be outrageous, right?

Leave a Reply

