James Taylor: 10/19/2008

JamesTaylor_10-19-08

This ticket is from a free concert that James Taylor gave in Asheville as part of the Obama for President Campaign in 2008. I had never seen James Taylor before, so I was pretty psyched, and my wife was equally excited. We had to get tickets from the campaign headquarters, and we also got some for our two daughters. This made it all the more special, since it was the first concert that we were taking our youngest to.

There was a huge line, and we waited a long time to get in to the park where the concert was being held. The crowd seemed pretty diverse, which I thought was cool. There was definitely a lot of excitement, both regarding the performance and the prospect of having the country’s first African-American president.

The concert was good, but very crowded and not well organized. But I can’t complain; it was free and for a good cause. At one point, I took my daughter close to the stage so she could see better. Taylor played a relatively short set, but did all his hits. Honestly, I could not think of a song that I had wanted to hear that he didn’t play.

All in all, it was a great show and I felt inspired afterwards, and it was another time when live music made for a great family bonding experience.

Leave a Reply

