Alvin Lee and 10 Years After: 9/11/1983

AlvinLee_9-11-83

Anyone who has seen the Woodstock movie will undoubtedly remember Alvin Lee and 10 Years After’s smokin’ performance of “I’m Going Home.” For me as a guitarist, seeing that filmed performance was one of those inspiring moments that made me want to play guitar. So when I heard that Alvin Lee was coming to the Button South, a popular rock club in South Florida, I was determined to go.

I was living with a Latin woman at the time, so of course, she was coming to the concert with me. I thought it would be OK, since she did like rock and roll, but unfortunately, she did not appreciate Alvin Lee’s long and energetic guitar solos nearly as much as I did, and after they ended the first set with a 10-minute version of “I’m Going Home,” she was ready to leave and letting me know in no uncertain terms. I was annoyed, to say the least. So I had to decide what was more important, standing my ground and stubbornly demanding we stay for the second set, or going home and maintaining a sense of harmony at the abode. I opted for the second choice, placating myself by focusing on the fact that I got to see the song that I wanted to hear most of all.

Sadly, Alvin Lee is no longer with us (he passed in 2013), so the fact that I didn’t stay and catch the second set is one of those rock and roll regrets. But I did get to see him, and the one set that I saw certainly inspired me.

Leave a Reply

