Jon Anderson: 8/21/1982

JonAnderson_8-21-82

This was an amazing concert! I love Yes and seeing Jon Anderson solo in a small venue like the Sunrise Musical Theater was a real treat. I went to this show with my friend Bob and we had great seats: first row center in the balcony. This gave us a clear view of the stage and the sound was crisp.

It was a while back, so a lot of the finer details have faded, but there are some things that stand out for me. His solo material was great, but he also performed a plethora of Yes songs, including “Close to the Edge,” “Wonderous Stories,” “And You And I,” “Perpetual Change,” and “Heart of the Sunrise,” which seemed all the more magical being performed in the Sunrise Musical Theater.

I experienced something really strange at this concert, one of those transcendent musical experiences. As Jon was singing, he would extend his hands out in front of him, and his hands seemed like they were reaching across time and space, right up to where I was sitting in the balcony. It was like the music shifted my consciousness and opened my mind.

The show concluded with an encore that included “Roundabout.” I left feeling changed. Prior to this show, I had not seen Yes live (I would see them for the first time the following year on the 90125 tour), so this was a really moving concert experience for me.

I listened hard but could not see
Life tempo change out and inside me
The preacher trained in all to lose his name
The teacher travels, asking to be shown the same
In the end we’ll agree, we’ll accept, we’ll immortalize
That the truth of man maturing in his eyes
All complete in the sight of seeds of life with you

Coming quickly to terms of all expression laid
As a moment regained and regarded both the same
Emotion revealed as the ocean maid
A clearer future, morning, evening, nights with you

And you and I climb, crossing the shapes of the morning
And you and I reach over the sun for the river
And you and I climb, clearer towards the movement
And you and I called over valleys of endless seas

(Excerpt from “And You And I” by Yes)

3 thoughts on “Jon Anderson: 8/21/1982

  1. “Close to the Edge” and “Fragile” did very well up here. I think both are great. My fav is probably “Close to the Edge.” There are moments in that lp that literally transport me somewhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

