The Ramones: 10/30/1984

Ramones_10-30-84

So as you can see, not only do I have a ticket stub from the Ramones, but I have a guitar pick too! It’s kind of a crazy story, so here goes.

I kind of liked the Ramones, but my friend Jim was definitely into them and invited me to go. I figured I might as well check them out.

The Button South was one of the main South Florida rock clubs at the time, and the place was jam packed with rock and roll crazies. We made our way up to the front and waited for the show to start.

The Ramones exploded on the stage. They were high energy right from the first note, and Jim and I were almost directly in front of Johnny Ramone. They all looked strung out, especially Joey who was skinny with long hair, growling into the microphone. It was pure rock and roll! I also marveled at their equipment, which looked like crap. The cords were patched together with old electrical tape and the amps looked battered. I was surprised that they still produced sound.

Anyway, on to the story of “the pick.” There was a girl who was next to me who had her hands cupped, begging Johnny Ramone for a pick. He kept coming up to her, holding a pick just above her outstretched hands, and then tossing it out to another part of the crowd. This went on the entire show. This girl didn’t dance, didn’t move, just stood there, begging.  Finally, after the last song of the encore, Johnny drops a pick into her hands… and it bounced out and landed right in front of me. So, I picked it up and looked at it. Now, I was a dumb teenager, and all this girl had to do was flash me a sad look and the pick would have been in her hand. But no. She got in my face and started screaming at me, saying that the pick was meant for her. I looked her in the eye and said, “Well, you should have held onto it then,” and tucked the pick into my pocket.

Later on, I felt somewhat sorry. Regardless of the fact that she was nasty to me, I probably should have given her the pick. But I was young and stupid. And “hey ho,” I still have a Ramones guitar pick.

3 thoughts on “The Ramones: 10/30/1984

Leave a Reply

