The Monkees: 7/6/1986

Monkees_7-6-86

This was a fun all-day concert. This was The Monkees’ 20th Anniversary Tour which featured Davy Jones, Micky Dolenz, and Peter Tork (Michael Nesmith did not join them for this tour). In addition to The Monkees, there were four other bands on the bill: The Turtles, Herman’s Hermits, The Grass Roots, and Gary Puckett and the Union Gap.

I went with my girlfriend Ruth and we had a great time. The opening bands were fun and definitely stirred the nostalgia. The one that stands out the most in my memory, though, is The Turtles. They were out of control. Howard Kaylan and Mark Volman were dressed in outrageous costumes, cursing into the microphones, grabbing themselves, starting a song and then saying “F**k that!” and going into something else. Most of the crowd was kind of dumb-struck, but I found it very entertaining.

Finally, The Monkees came onstage, walking out as the theme song from the television show played. They played a long set that included every hit I could possibly think of. They sounded great and genuinely seemed to enjoy themselves on stage. We danced and sang along. It was exactly what I envisioned a Monkees concert to be like.

After the show, Ruth and I hung around in the parking lot for a while. I had this spinning prism disk that attracted many of the consciousness-altered people from the concert, who stood around staring into the swirling vortex of color. It was pretty entertaining, but after a while, we packed it in and headed home.

Thanks to the internet, I was able to find the setlist from the show. Here it is.

Setlist:

Last Train to Clarksville
A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You
(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone
Cuddly Toy
Goin’ Down
I Wanna Be Free
Your Auntie Grizelda
She
Cripple Creek
For Pete’s Sake
That Was Then, This Is Now
Shades of Gray
Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow)
No Time
Daydream Believer
Zilch / Randy Scouse Git
I’ll Love You Forever
MGBGT
Valleri
I’m a Believer

Encore:

Listen to the Band
Pleasant Valley Sunday

Leave a Reply

