Fleetwood Mac: 11/6/1987

fleetwoodmac_11-6-87

Although I am not 100% sure, I believe this was the last concert that I attended at the infamous Hollywood Sportatorium in South Florida. I’ll see if I have any later stubs as I work through the collection, but if my memory serves me correctly, this was the last one. The Sporto was permanently closed in 1988 and then demolished to build McMansions.

Fleetwood Mac is one of those bands that I really like some of their stuff, and some things not so much. Also, growing up in the 70’s and 80’s, I was subjected to more than enough of their music on the radio. Still, I figured it would be worth checking them out, and hey, concerts were still just $17.50 back then.

I was a little disappointed that Lindsay Buckingham was not with them on this tour. I know that the music purists will tell you that the band was never as good as when Peter Green was the guitarist, but Buckingham was no slouch, in my humble opinion. Anyway, they had two guitarists with them on that tour, Billy Burnette and Rick Vito.

I enjoyed the concert, even if the sound was terrible, but concertgoers in South Florida expected that at the Sporto. The high points for me were “Oh Well” and Mick Fleetwood’s amazing drum solo. I was a little disappointed that they didn’t play “Hypnotized,” but it was not that big of a deal. The rest of the show was cool.

I searched online and found the setlist, which I’ve included here. Technology is a wonderful thing. Cheers!


Setlist:

  • Say You Love Me
  • The Chain
  • Dreams
  • Isn’t It Midnight
  • Rhiannon
  • Oh Well
  • Seven Wonders
  • Rattlesnake Shake
  • Everywhere
  • Over My Head
  • Gold Dust Woman
  • Don’t Let Me Down Again
  • Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You?
  • I Loved Another Woman
  • Brown Eyes
  • World Turning
  • Little Lies
  • Stand Back
  • You Make Loving Fun
  • Go Your Own Way

Encore:

  • Blue Letter
  • Don’t Stop
  • Songbird
2 thoughts on “Fleetwood Mac: 11/6/1987

  1. Always wondered how you remembered all the playlists! I was a big Fleetwood Mac fan in high school, but I agree, their music was all over the radio, so that later I didn’t want to hear any of it. I’ve more recently added some of their songs to my library, but have left some of the overplayed ones up in the clouds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Yeah, i wish my memory was that good. Truth is, I didn’t even remember who went with me to that show, until one of my friends on Facebook mentioned he went to it with me. So yes, I look online for set lists, which also help refresh the memories.

      Hope you are doing well.

      Jeff

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

