Cheap Trick: 10/28/1984

It’s been a long time since I posted. Life has gotten in the way. It happens. But here we go.

I think this was the first time that I saw Cheap Trick in concert. I know the first time I saw them was at the Sunrise Musical Theatre, and I am pretty sure I only saw them there once, but memories get foggier the father back you go.

Anyway, if this is indeed the concert I was thinking about, I went with my friend Jim who was a big Cheap Trick fan. He was telling me about the plethora of guitar picks that Rick Nielsen would toss into the crowd, and some of the other rock and roll antics. And they did not disappoint in this area. I was amazed at how far Nielsen could flick a pick. And yes, when they played “Surrender” as an encore, they sailed a KISS record out into the crowd too!

I looked online and the following is an average setlist from 1984. It seems to be about right from what I remember. Rock on!

  • Hello There
  • California Man
  • Reach Out
  • I Want You to Want Me
  • I Want Be Man
  • The Ballad of T.V. Violence (I’m Not the Only Boy)
  • If You Want My Love
  • Baby Loves to Rock
  • Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
  • I Can’t Take It
  • Up the Creek
  • Dream Police
  • She’s Tight
  • Stop This Game
  • Surrender

2 thoughts on “Cheap Trick: 10/28/1984

  1. Love these guys Jeff. Even in the late 80s when they were putting out so so albums I still bought em as I was a fan through thick n thin.
    That’s a cool set list to have heard live especially Up The Creek which was on the soundtrack to said movie.
    Hope those fires are away from ya!

    Like

Comments are closed.