Neil Young and the International Harvesters: 9/15/1985

I remember this performance clearly; the only thing I don’t remember about this concert was who I went with. Obviously, I was focused on Neil.

The International Harvesters were a country band backing up Neil on this tour, which was cool because they played a lot of acoustic tunes that went over really well, such as “Heart of Gold,” “Old Man” and “Helpless.” And even the more intense Crazy Horse tunes, like “Down by the River” and “Powderfinger” actually sounded really good with the country flavor.

I am a huge Neil Young fan and would see him multiple times after this with Crazy Horse, but I have to confess that it was very cool seeing him with this configuration. There is something about Neil’s country-style music that just soothes my soul.

Here is the setlist. Long may Mr. Young keep playing music for us.

Setlist:

  • Country Home
  • Comes a Time
  • Lookin’ for a Love
  • Heart of Gold
  • This Old House
  • Southern Pacific
  • Interstate
  • Sugar Mountain
  • Helpless
  • California Sunset
  • Nothing Is Perfect
  • Field of Opportunity
  • Down by the River
  • Old Man
  • Powderfinger

Encore:

  • Get Back to the Country
  • Grey Riders

6 thoughts on “Neil Young and the International Harvesters: 9/15/1985

Comments are closed.