Rodrigo y Gabriela: 3/15/2010

If you have not listened to this acoustic guitar duo, you need to. They are nothing short of amazing. As a guitarist, when I heard they were coming to town, I was psyched and immediately bought tickets. I went with my friend Joe and we got to the Orange Peel early enough to stake out a good spot.

They important thing about being a successful duo is that your playing really needs to complement your partner’s, and vice versa. Rodrigo and Gabriela do just that. Gabriela’s percussive rhythm is like a heartbeat that allows Rodrigo to spiral off into intricate Latin-influenced guitar solos. I left the show both awe-struck and inspired.

On the way out, Joe picked up a copy of the group’s current cd, “11:11.” He later gave it to me as a gift. I have to say, I listened to it extensively. Such a great album!

Sorry I could not find the setlist for this show online, but as a consolation, here is a YouTube video to check out and get a sense of this group’s amazing musicianship. Enjoy!

Rodrigo y Gabriela – ‘Tamacun’

13 thoughts on “Rodrigo y Gabriela: 3/15/2010

  1. Loved the comment you made about duos complementing each other. I play cello and bongos in a duo and never thought about the fact I do the same, that heartbeat. Appreciate the new perspective and love your page.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks! I played cello for about 2 years in school, then switched to sax before settling on guitar. Always nice to meet a fellow musician. Hope you have a great day, and thanks for stopping by. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.